Great love stories of the ages; Eloise and Abelard

It would be a strange man or woman that had no joy, pleasure or instruction in the great love stories.

One ‘Emily’ has put together a list of 20 love stories.  You will almost certainly disagree with some of her choices.

One of my favourites is the story of Eloise and Abelard.

Eloise and Abelard

This is a story of a monk and a nun whose love letters became world famous. Around 1100, Peter Abelard went to Paris to study at the school of Notre Dame. He gained a reputation as an outstanding philosopher. Fulbert, the canon of Notre Dame, hired Abelard to tutor his niece, Heloise. Abelard and the scholarly Heloise fell deeply in love, conceived a child, and were secretly married. But Fulbert was furious, so Abelard sent Heloise to safety in a convent. Thinking that he intended to abandon Heloise, Fulbert had his servants castrated Abelard while he slept. Abelard became a monk and devoted his life to learning. The heartbroken Heloise became a nun. Despite their separations and tribulations, Abelard and Heloise remained in love. Their poignant love letters were later published.

You can see the rest of Emily’s choice HERE – you will certainly disagree with some of them – and will want to suggest others.

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach and coach mainly self-understanding. At advanced levels About 21stC 'interfaith as inter-spirituality' - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. In the past I : . 1) I ran courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provided materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

3 thoughts on “Great love stories of the ages; Eloise and Abelard”

  1. I agree with a few of her top romance choices. I for sure agree that Romeo and Juliet should be added to the list. A great book that I just read, in which I think is one of the most romantic, mysterious books I have ever read is “The Silent Note,” written by Patrick Davis. This book truly is a woman’s all time love story.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.