Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment’ – Rumi and A J Heschel

Grand-Bazaar_Shop

From Rumi we have;

“Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment. Cleverness is mere opinion, bewilderment is intuition.” 

From Abraham Joshua Heschel we have;

“The world presents itself in two ways to me. The world as a thing I own, the world as a mystery I face. What I own is a trifle, what I face is sublime.

I am careful not to waste what I own; I must learn not to miss what I face.

We manipulate what is available on the surface of the world; we must also stand in awe before the mystery of the world. We objectify Being but we also are present at Being in wonder, in radical amazement.

All we have is a sense of awe and radical amazement in the face of a mystery that staggers our ability to sense it.” 

To juxtapose extracts from two, or more, great wisdom traditions is the basic dynamic for generating a text for our ‘One Garden’ interfaith as inter-spiritual living’ groups.

Using spiritual dialogue the juxtaposed extracts not only generate new insights each to the other but in the individual or group that engages with the texts in a reverent way.

Leave a Reply

