Love Letters to Spam #25 (Ode to my late dad on his birthday)

This wonderful piece takes you from the intensely personal to the transcendentally inter-spiritual. Wonder-full!

Love Letters to Spam

My Dearest Spam,

If he were still alive we’d be celebrating my dad’s birthday today. I threw him a small party every year and decorated the downstairs yellow which was his favorite color. When he had a big meeting with a bank, his socks were always yellow. He loved yellow because he felt it symbolized happiness.

The last time I saw my dad was in a hospital room and he was dying. Before I left, I asked him, “Is there anything I can do for you, Dad?”

I wrote down what he said: “Be my daughter, you don’t know how much I love you. Thank you. Bye.”

One of the last e-mails my dad sent me. He moved so easily between saying something profound in a direct way, and just appreciating the little things. :-) One of the last e-mails my dad sent me. He moved so easily between saying something profound in a direct way, and just appreciating the little things.

Don Tishman was born 88 years ago to a couple of Orthodox Jewish anarchists living in…

View original post 364 more words

Leave a Reply

