In (Zen) Budddhism there is no hope!

I loved this when I came across it;

 

“In Buddhism, there is no hope.” That was my formal introduction to Zen, a remark made by a monk teaching an introductory class at Kanzeon. What a relief! Nothing to do. Just this! Hearing that, I never looked back. I wholeheartedly entered Zen practice.

For me, the central attraction and the essential challenge of Zen is the same: To constantly realize that my sense of who and what I am, my expectations of myself and others, my ingrained habits of mind, are all perspectives–all are true, all are partial. The same can be said of other, non-dual perspectives I attain through my practice, perspectives from which the separate “I” is seen as essentially illusory, like a circle drawn on the surface of a swift-flowing stream, a frame for a picture that is never the same from moment to moment, an arbitrary demarcation separating that which is not separate.

via Michael Mugaku Zimmerman, Sensei | Still Mountain: A Guide to Retreats.

Leave a Reply

