Zazen on Ching-t’ing Mountain BY LI PO TRANSLATED BY SAM HAMILL

Image

I found a version of one of favourite poems and spiritual truths that has a title, a very important title;

Zazen on Ching-t’ing Mountain

BY LI PO

TRANSLATED BY SAM HAMILL

The birds have vanished down the sky.
Now the last cloud drains away.

We sit together, the mountain and me,
until only the mountain remains.

Li Po, “Zazen on Ching-t’ing Mountain,” translated by Sam Hamill from Crossing the Yellow River: Three Hundred Poems from the Chinese. Copyright © 2000 by Sam Hamill. Reprinted with the permission of BOA Editions, Ltd., Rochester, New York.

Source: Crossing the Yellow River: Three Hundred Poems from the Chinese (BOA Editions Ltd., 2000)

PHOTO SOURCE  – (not Ching-t'ing mountain!

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

11 thoughts on “Zazen on Ching-t’ing Mountain BY LI PO TRANSLATED BY SAM HAMILL”

      1. I also read your answer to the teachers choosing to focus on those who do not make money from their work. What is wrong with that – money is energy and people need to live in the material world with money (energy) If one follows their calling then I believe that the rewards are there, so if these people appear to monetize their spiritual worlk but at the same times spreading a good message to help people overcome obstacles or look at life in a different way so they are not victims but victors, then I seen them as healers on the same level as doctors who are helping to heal the body while those like Ekchart Tolle, Wayne Dyer and Deepak are helping to head the body mind and spirit and inject a new way of living in the world in an manner that is accessible to the common man. I don’t see them as necessarily religious people but inspired people.

        Like

      2. Agreed – the most spiritual way to think of money is as stored energy.

        I guessI see Thich Nhat Hanh as being safer from possible distortions (rich man eye needle etc) than say Chopra. May they all be safe and teach effectively.

        Check this article by another of my heroes Ken Wilber – http://www.enlightennext.org/magazine/j12/wilber.asp – I feel Baha’i is currently paying too much attention to the horizontal cf the vertical! (Which is the same as too little attention to the mystical/meditative!)

        Yes I am a Baha’i but trying to pay more attention to the meditative/mystical and to the Oneness evident in all the true faiths via interfaith interspirituality (as in Wayne Teasdale’s The Mystic Heart) – hence my courses.

        Like

    1. Perhaps not ‘like’ but it is dying to self. See Ken Wilber’s No Boundary (his first book).

      Of course the experience can be of a nature mystic type as in the poem or even in via a ‘meditation tank’ but the individual still needs a moral compass, spiritual understanding and a relationship with one or more great teachers.

      You might be interested in the course I’m starting HERE – http://universalistspirit.wordpress.com/2011/05/15/the-main-text-as-a-sticky-front-page/

      Like

      1. Hi Roger, it is interesting to note that you are connected with the Baha;i faith. Just so you know I i am a follower of the Bahá’i religion having evolved myself from the Anglican faith in my search for more answers. Even though I believe ín Bahaullah’s message I still find myself wanting to focus more on the mystical side of life, my quest is to live consciously of my spiritual nature at all times, to follow the examplar of the Faith Abdul Baha. Are you a Bahai? I will definitedly check out your course. Thank you

        Like

Leave a Reply

